Learning Python for Rhino & Grasshopper

Hi guys …

I knew it’s maybe indirect to Ladybugging and Honeybeeing! But I know the experts I want to ask reside here also :slight_smile:

I am new to Python … However each time I am getting started to it, it looks like a piece of cake, especially when watching tutorials that talk about ordinary programming work (loops, variables, conditions … functions …)

I am trying to analyse the code in the image below … but it confuses me … :roll_eyes:

As I am understanding it … it is supposed to create the geometry shown from the sum of the collections of planes … created by each line … but … if I hash (comment) any of the program lines shown, even the gp declaration, the whole geometry disappears …!

Could you please give a brief explanation … ? and How can I touch tutorials that good in this regard?

Thanks …

Hi @Ahmed_Jendeya,

This question is very generic and really hard to reply. Can you be more specific about what are you trying to accomplish? Do you want to know how to use Rhinocommon or rhinoscripsyntax to create geometry? Do you want to learn Python in general?

Hi Mostapha …
I do want to learn Python …
But at this stage … I am trying to understand the necessary parts related to Geometry (simple ones).
So any advice regarding that?
and also … regarding learning Python very well in the very near future?

Also … let’s say I’m trying to understand how this specific code works …?

Honeybee code, for the most part, is pretty object oriented and uses some quirky things within the grasshopper namespace like a dictionary called “sticky”, rhinoscriptsyntax and the Rhino API itself (which inturn is a wrapper for a C# -based framework of classes and methods).