Solution exception:No module named Grasshopper

Hi,

I am rather new to Grasshopper + Ladybug and am having an issue with Ladybug. I have installed and re-installed Rhino 5, GhPython 0.6.0.3 and Ladybug and Honeybee on my PC, however, when I drag over the main Ladybug default folder onto the canvas I keep receiving an error message “Solution exception:No module named Grasshopper”.

I have looked at other posts that address similar problems like this one http://www.grasshopper3d.com/group/ladybug/forum/topics/1-solution-…

but in my case the paths are ok and the script files in place. I am, however, missing “scriptcontect.pyc”. Could this be the issue and if so how could I fix it? If not any other thoughts what might be wrong?

Thank you,

Elina

This sounds like an issue with Rhino installation. Can you try to just import Grasshopper in a GHPython component? Type line below in the component and press ok.

import Grasshopper.Kernel as gh

Does it give you an error?

Thanks Mostapha, unfortunately it gives me an error: 1. Solution exception:‘LightException’ object has no attribute ‘Kernel’…

Hi Elina

you need to update Rhino. Old versions of Rhino 5 do not work. Get the latest Service Release from the Rhino website.

Thanks

Giulio

Giulio Piacentino
for Robert McNeel & Associates
giulio@mcneel.com

Hi Giulio,

Thank you for advice, however, unfortunately, that did not solve it either.

Elina

Hi,

I have the same issue. Where you ever able to figure it out?

I think mine is in part due to the fact that I have my Rhino on a separate E drive and all my Grasshopper components on a C drive.

All my other plugins work though, so I don’t know if this is the problem.

Thanks!

Mosh

In case someone else searches for this, the problem is having an independent install of IronPython. I hear that the very latest or the exact same version as Rhino are OK to install. Other versions cause conflicts.

Uninstall IronPython from the Control Panel.

Giulio

Giulio Piacentino