Bonce from surface tool

Hi everyone,

I’m currently doing urban design analysis focusing on solar reflection from building glazing using “the bounce from surface” tool which is found in the Rhino Grasshopper plugin. I have no background in coding, but I have managed to use the existing tool by replacing my 3D model in the context and displayed the reflected solar vectors. Now, I want to do a time-step simulation to finish my research, but I don’t know how to do that. Help, please :slight_smile:

It will be easier to help if you share your script.

If you want to animate the results for each timestep, you should generate the hours one at a time using sunpath.

If you want to change the timestep, sunpath component has an input for that.

1 Like

Thank you for the fast response Mostapha :slight_smile: I have already plugged in a date and hour slider and done some time-steps manually. I wonder if there is an automated time step based on hourly basis for a one-year simulation? I wanted to share the script on my first post but I can’t see (find) any option for that.

Hallo @lewi,

you have to use the upload option, to share your script or image.

1 Like

I can’t because it says “new users can not upload files” :frowning:

sorry if I intrude in the topic, but in the annual analysis what do you want to see?
The mapping of the amount of the reflected solar reflection (from the building) in the urban geometry?

Yes @LaFleur that’s exactly what I wanted to see. As you can imagine it’s very tiring to do that manually.

Try posting the file via google drive.
I believe that with the current components is not possible to do this type of analysis. I’m curious to see how you built your work-flow.

ok, I thought you were already able to create a mapping of the result for a short time, instead you have only created the polyline reflections thanks to the example.