Demand-controlled ventilation issue

Hi,

I am quite new to HB and have an issue to model ventilation that is demand controlled.

In the HBSetSchedule component is written for the ventilation schedule :

"Note that this schedule overrides the typical ventilation that occurs based on the occupancy shcedule and the “ventilationPerPerson.”

So I guessed if we didn’t put a schedule there and specify a minimum airlow/m2 and minimum airflow/occupant, EP would calculate the volume flow rate at each timestep based on the schedule, but it doesn’t seem to work.

Indeed, on the results, I only have a constant airflow that correspond to the maximum of vol/m2 and vol/occ. So I wonder how to use these components to have demand controlled ventilation.

What I really want is have a minimum airflow when the room is not occupied and a bigger one based on the number of occupants when the room is occupied.

I currently have :

outdoorAirRequirement input = 1 (maximum) in SetEPZoneThreshold

ventilation per area = 0.00035

ventilation per occ = 0.01 in set EPZoneLoads

No ventilation schedules input in SetEPZoneSchedules

Hope you can help,

Best regards,

Aurelien

Hi Aurelien,

I would customize the occupancy schedule.

Create a new schedule with the values of the occupancy file with a function that substitute the values=0 (when there is no occupancy) for the amount that you need. You can always calculate this value by inputting a fraction of the ventilation per area or per person, as suits you.

Hope it helps

Julia

Edit: keep in mind that the simulation will calculate the ventilation per area/person multiplied by the number of the new schedule (approx to explain it in a simple way, hope Mostapha doesn’t kill me for saying that), so be very careful with the numbers that you put there

customized schedule.gh (19.8 KB)

Hi Julia,

Thank you for your input !