I cannot get my results to agree with reality

Hi, this is my first time posting so please bear with me.

I’m an architect and have only recently begun analyzing daylight through Ladybug, however I find that the results does not align with my real life perception of the space (upon visiting).

My results show an sDA of 15%, but the room appears bright in real life. See attached photo.

I initially exported my model from SketchUp, but have remodeled it entirely in Rhino to eliminate any import issues. The Grasshopper file has been shared with me through a course in daylight analysis and I have made very few adjustments.

Is there a way I can share my files in order for them to be reviewed by one of you experts?

Kind regards

1 Like

I can now attach multiple photos, so here are my results.

Hoping one of you can help me.

DA is calculated for the total occupied hours. You can not extrapolate from one image (hour) to the whole calculated period.
You can try to simulate the space for the specific date you took the picture, but to rely better on the simulations i recommend you to calibrate results with measurements on site.

-A.

Hi Abraham,

Thank you for your reply.

I realise that DA is an annual calculation and that it includes sun direction aswell, contrary to Daylight Factor for instance. However the photo was taken on a cloudy day so in my mind it would be considered an “average setting”, could be that is where I am mistaken?

Maybe the results are indeed accurate and I am just taken aback by the results. The room is large with a good height of 3.6m and the windows are large (height of 2.1m//width of 1.4m). They are spaced out with roughly 3.3m between them.

But anyway, thanks for your reply once again.