When to use a Ground Plane for Radiance simulations

Hi LBT community,

I’m a Radiance beginner and hoping that @mikkel or another expert can help me with a Radiance question. Is there any guidance on when you should or shouldn’t manually set up a ground plane as a HB face for daylight / radiation simulations?

I had a look here and on the Radiance forum, which has helped, but I’d really appreciate an expert’s take.

Two useful resources I spotted were this, which suggests a ground plane should be used (although you need to be careful with Radiance parameters if you do).

And also this Radiance tutorial, which suggests the the ground is set up as a glow material, making me think I shouldn’t manually set up a ground plane.

Example
The specific study I’m doing right now is for a façade radiation study for a high rise office in central London (but also interested how the ground plane should be used for annual daylight studies for low rise buildings with no context).

I’ve run simulations with and without a HB face for a ground plane. The annual result when including a ground plane is higher, marginally for the more south facing facades, and by a greater amount for the NW facade.

Here’s the model and script (with ground plane included):
SimpleModel.3dm (649.2 KB)
Solar Radiation Comparison Ground Plane.gh (1.4 MB)

Would also be good to know how HB deals with ground light source by default.

I’m happy to move this over to the Radiance forum if that’s more suited, but thought others here would benefit.

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Hey @charlie.brooker ,

This is a good question and I’m sure @mikkel can tell you a lot more than I can but I’ll just give you the short answer.