3-phase/5-phase method: is a high -ad value for vmtx_par or dmtx_par?

Hi there :slight_smile:

I have been working on comparing the 5-phase method with the 3-phase method by using a shoebox room with a south window. After I studied the Three-phase and Five-phase tutorials by Andy McNeil, one thing has made me confused.

Tutorials:
[1] The Three-Phase method for simulating complex Fenestration with Radiance. A McNeil, LBNL. Last revision: 2014.
[2] The Five-Phase Method for Simulating Complex Fenestration with Radiance. A McNeil, LBNL. 2013

Problems:

According to a previous discussion with @Sarith, -ad needs to be set a high value. So previously I set -ad 22400 to dmtx_opt_par_. The calculation for this case took 3-5 minutes.
However, in the tutorials, it is addressed that the view matrix usually has high -ad values, which are 50000 and 65536 in both papers. Meanwhile, for daylight matrix, a typical -ad value is 1024 according to [2].

So I am confused about:

• Is dmtx_opt_par meant to be Daylight Matrix parameter and vmtx_opt_par meant to be View Matrix parameter in Honeybee Plus?
    If so, should we set a high value -ad for dmtx_opt_par and a low value for vmtx_opt_par in each run?

Actually I tested it, and the output of vmtx_par is null. Moreover, it took 25 minutes to finish the calculation with the same configuration and location. The outputs (average UDI and DA) don’t have a big difference with the previous calculation.

I’d like to learn more about how to set the acceptable values for vmtx and dmtx in HBPlus, any suggestions will be appreciated :smiley:

I leave the hard parts for @sarith - :slight_smile:

Did you change the recipe type? I feel we should break down this component in at least two separate components. One for multi-phase and another one for the normal raytracing studies.