Can't read data in GH_Cpython

Hello everyone,

I am a Python beginner.
I would like to use the component GH_CPython to analyse my data, but I can’t get it to read the data by GH_CPython. The data consists of branches and represents values (based on penalty function) for four sensors, 8760 hours and four states (0, 45, 90, 135 degrees vertical blinds). So, (48760*4) 140.160 datapoints.

How is it possible to les GH_CPython read my data and approach it as an 3D-array (4,8760,4)?

I saw that it is also possible to make an CSV file, but I also can’t get it to read the csv-file with GH_Cpython. I prefer to use GH_Cpython in stead of the component python script, because I would like to use pandas and numpy. But if it is possible to use pandas and numpy in the component python script, I would like also like to know how I can read the data in this component.

I attach my script so you can see the structure of the data
Verticalblinds_GHCpython.gh (936.0 KB)

Thank you so much in advance!

Kind regards,
Kim

Hi,

Without knowing what you would like to achieve as the end goal, it’s hard to determine how the data should be read and stored within the python component for further post-processing.

Personally I like to store my data as a dictionary since it is somewhat similar to the way datatree works in grasshopper. Attached is an example of how to read the data and store it in a result dictionary with following logic: result = { point_id: {blindstate: data} }
Before read in the data I re-parameterize it a bit.

data_ghpy.gh (353.4 KB)

I’m not against CPython nor pandas, numpy, etc, however, as a beginner I think it is rather important to learn how data structure works in native python before taking shortcuts, just a thought.

vhoang,