Efficient way to draw geometry in Rhino/Grasshopper

Hello,

I am still pretty new to Ladybug Tools and have watch many videos and tutorials on the workflow. I am starting to understand the Ladybug Tools work flow (which is quite different from our current IES software). I have several questions specific to drawing/setting building geometry in Rhino/GH. As I have not seen any videos that focus on these subjects (if there are, pls point me to them).

1. What is the best way to draw multi-zone geometry in Rhino/Gh from 2D PDF/CAD plans? From outline to 3D closed polylines?

2. Can live parametric objects generated in Grasshopper be used for geometry or do they have to be baked in for use in HB?

3. How do you create custom names for individual zones instead of auto-generated names?

Thank you!
Eugene

1 Like

Welcome @eugene_s to the community.

This post is useful. Either you can create zone from masses or from surfaces. In both cases, you can specify zone names. This is easy when the number of zones is small. But becomes a challenge when hundreds of zones are involved.

Yes. That is why Honeybee lives in grasshopper

Import them in Rhino. Create surfaces. extrude surface, cap polysurfaces.
You can also create a workflow to do this in grasshopper.

Thanks @devang this is very helpful!

In regards to zone naming, I will explore the suggested script more. But our projects have many hundreds of zones since we often work on high-rise residential buildings with many non-typical floors. I would like to utilize Honeybee to calculate design cooling/heating to size room AC equipment (in addition to energy analysis) that is why we split into many zones. Are there other methods that would suit large amount of zones?

Thanks,
Eugene