Error message when running “Solutions” in Butterfly

Hello people,

I am fairly new to Butterfly and OpenFOAM. I have tried to run simulations on a project, which seems fine in terms of meshing. However, when i run the “Solution”, an error keeps coming up. Translated into English, I would say that it says “The action is not initialized” (see picture).

I have set the “End time” to 1000. When I run the “Solution” in parallel, it makes a 1000 iterations (or so it tells me) and then gives me the error message. When not running in parallel, the simulations stops at about 200 iterations every time with the same error message.

Has anyone stumbled upon this before, and does anyone have a solution on how to fix the problem?

For confidential reasons I am not allowed to upload the Grasshopper file.

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

I am first time seeing this. Can you recreate this error in a different GH file that does not breach confidentiality and share it? Are you using Rhino 6? If yes, can you try rhino 5?

Hello @devang

Thanks for the quick reply and suggestions!

Given that I haven’t found it anywhere on Grasshopper Forum and GitHub, I suspect that the error message doesn’t occur that often - which of course is a good thing.
I could try to make a somewhat similar file during the weekend. I know that would be a lot easier in terms of troubleshooting.
I am using Rhino 6. I can give it a go in Rhino 5, if you think that is worth trying.

Please try in Rhino 5 to be sure just in case.

Hey @devang

It seems I’ve figured out the solution to the problem. I thought I could be clever and link up a single Boolean Toggle to all the different steps of the simulation, meaning I could just set the Boolean Toggle to “True” and then let the whole simulation run over night.