Error with sunlight hours analysis

Hi,

I’m extremely new to Grasshopper and Ladybug and am attempting to make a sun path diagram of an architectural model. I have followed Mostaha’s videos but am stuck on video 3 of 3 as I am getting an error when I try to link the sun vectors from the Sun Path panel to the sun vectors from the sunlight hours analysis panel. I’ve attached a screenshot here. This sounds like a similar problem to Misung’s post but I am not getting any solution from the answer you gave her. Any help would be very much appreciated.

Thank you!!

Ladybug%20Error|647x500

@Georgia, Try uploading the image again. It’s not uploaded correctly.

It would have been helpful if you have provided a link to that topic. Not sure which topic are you referring to.

Sorry about that, attached is the photo again, I hope you can see this screenshot?

You are connecting out output from sunpath to sunlight hours. You need to connect sunVectors. The one below out.

I see, ok, I changed this but now when I connect sun vectors to sun vectors, Rhino crashes and I get this warning (pictured in attached screenshot). This has happened a few times now. Could it be crashing because there are errors on the Sunlight Hours Analysis Panel?

This is an unexpected error for a simple sunlight hours study. Is your model in meters? How many test points do you have?

Yes, the model is in metric. I don’t know how to find the number of test points, but I do know that the test points panel is getting an error as shown in attached screenshot. Could it be there are too many test points? How do I change this? I also noticed that the 3D model seems to have this dark grey screen over it, I’m not sure if maybe the test points are making the model dark grey?

Your Rhino model unit is not Meters. Right click on that and change it to Meters. Then Recompute the Grasshopper.

1 Like