HB UTCI Calculation at night (No Solar Exposure) with and without shade

Dear Chris,

I am getting unexpected results for HB UTCI, and I would appreciate if you can help me understand them.

So, as can be seen in the screenshots provided. I am calculating HB UTCI for a single point in the middle of an urban canyon, once without shade above the canyon, and once with a shade component.

I am studying what difference the shade would make in the hours after the sunset. So I chose the hour 23:00 for the comparison, for 3 months of the summer (June, July and August).

I was expecting that the shade would increase the hot discomfort, because it will be blocking the longwave heat radiation back to the sky at night. However, the result showed either the UTCI category remaining the same, or actually improving to be cooler at night with the shade present.

Can you please help me understand how this happened?

N.B: I tried uploading the grasshopper file, but I cannot seem to be allowed because I am still a new user.

Thank you
Best regards,
Regwan

1 Like

Hi @regwan, are you able to share a closer view of your script?

Hi Charlie,

I am posting now 2 screenshots.
It does not allow me as a new user to post more than one photo at a time.

Hi @regwan, thanks for the more detailed screenshots. Looking at your analysis period you’re simulating from 2300 on June 1st to 2300 August 31st, ie every single hour in that period, not just 2300 each day.

You’ll need to do some post processing to get 2300 from each day that you’ve simulated (assuming you haven’t already).

Hi @charlie.brooker,

Thank you for helping me.

I thought the same thing regarding the calculation of all the hours inbetween, however, I got 92 results only for the solar exposure when I input this same period. So I thought I was mistaken.

Please see the screenshot below.

Hi @regwan, I might be wrong but I’m fairly confident that it will be every single hour in that period.