Hours of a Typical Day in direct sun

Hi all,

I’m fairly new to the tools but have been enjoying learning the different analysis methods… I’m curious if someone could point me in the direction of what components were used for this analysis, and how it was mapped appropriately to the 3dchart.

Thanks in advanced for any advice you can give!

Hi @jakechevrier, Welcome to the forum! See here.

Also please set your profile picture!

perfect!

I got up to the point where I needed the HOY that the sunisvisible values were associated with, and was stuck trying to figure out how to get that…

This is great. Thank you for the fast response!

We’re designing a pergola to reduce the amount of direct sunlight hitting and outdoor surface, so being able to graph this is amazing. This will also help us determine when vertical blinds will need to be utilized.

So far I’ve designed various options to analyze. But I’m interested in making this a parametric thing to determine the best louver depth/thickness/spacing/rotation. I was reading you suggested Octopus for these types of studies, so that will be next adventure…

Thanks again Mostapha!

Hello again,
I got the analysis to run, and its been really helpful, however I noticed something that could potentially be a big problem for my analysis.

I’m curious why we subtract 1 from the “sunpositionsHOY” output of the Sunpath component?
At first it made sense since grasshopper list always start with zero… but then i noticed an issue with the 3d chart.

I’m putting in an analysis period on the sunpath component to examine shoulder months specifically september through november from 11am-2pm (lunch time).

I’ve included a photo of my analysis period component and another of the 3d chart that comes out. As you can see the chart has values from 10-1 even though my analysis period should be 11-2.