How can i calculate the temperature inside a Room?

How can I calculate the temperature in a room to find out if I am using the right shading method for my building? p.s I have Rhino 7 and Honeybee 1.4.0

Do you have any suggestions on how I can figure out the best shading methods for the facade?

I am a beginner so please tell me an easy way to calculate it with Grasshopper.

Honeybee ‘RADIANCE’ Part 1 | Ladybug tools 1.3.0 - YouTube

I used this video to see how much daylight comes in, but I don’t know if it makes sense in my situation to know how much daylight comes in. The professor said i need to know the Temp. inside the building when using the shading Methods i designed.

Hey @Haya,

In order to calculate the temperature you should run some energy simulations with the honeybee components (it uses energyPlus and Openstudio to run the simulations). Once it runs a different software (not Radiance) the model should be “build” in a different way.

I’m not sure which temperature you would like to obtain (airTemperature, operativeTemperature) since you haven’t made it clear, but I’m pretty sure you can handle it with the honeybee tools.

1 Like

I want to know the radiation temperature in the room when the shading methods are closed and when they are open to know if I used the optimal shading method or if I need to choose another one, but I’m struggling because I couldn’t find a video explaining it in the new version of Ladybug. Do you have any suggestions for me on how to calculate this?

Hi @Haya,
As @alefelipe1 explaines you will have to run an energy simulation. When downloading LBT 1.4 also a folders with samples comes with it. There you can see how a workflow can be created. After running the energy simulation you can read out the sql file by using teh HB read room comfort result.

2 Likes