How to extract ENVI-Met’s microclimate data by Ladybug

Hello
I am a student of Nanjing University, China. I’m doing research on the relationship between microclimate and building energy consumption. I have got the microclimate data through ENVI-met software. However, due to the large number of models, and each model needs to extract 24-hour microclimate data, so the workload of data extraction is very large, I hope that I can use other tools to help me complete the work of data extraction. I don’t know if ladybug can help me extract data from ENVI-met in batches. If so, how? Any help would be highly appreciated.

Virgil

Hi @Virgil,

There is a component of old lb_envimet that lets you read results, lb results reader: Old lb_envimet .
What is dimension of grid? What is max size (MB) of EDT/EDX results?

Regards,
Antonello

Hi, @Antonello

The grid dimension of the model is 98 * 98 * 14, and the size of a grid cell is 4 m* 4m * 3m. The data size in the “atmosphere” folder is 658MB, and the EDT file size per hour is 24MB. Does the data size have a big effect on ladybug reading?

Best regards
Virgil

Hi @Virgil,

I have modified a component to extract all values of all files filtered by a selected variable into a csv file. Eg. air temperature of 3d grid of all files within atmosphere result folder.
You need to use some gh native components or other plugins to manage those values inside gh.
Please, let me know if it works.
lb_envimet_write_csv.gh (378.6 KB)

Regards,
Antonello

Hi, @Antonello