Issues Running Honeybee and Radiance Commands

Hello everyone,

Firstly, I’d like to express my gratitude for taking the time to go through my extensive query and I’m not good at English. After trying by myself and search on Ladybug Tools forumI finally decide to create a new topic for my problem. I’m currently a student at the Department Of Civil and Construction Engineering, and I’ve embarked on a journey with Honeybee Radiance simulations. However, this hasn’t been smooth sailing.

To highlight the primary issues:

• I’ve discovered multiple paths for rfluxmtx on my system, which I believe might be a root cause for conflicts.
  • During my debugging process, I opted to test using the sample “annual_daylight.gh” from the ladybug-tools-1-6-0 folder. The reason being, the error logs mirrored those of my project. Alarmingly, both “annual_daylight.gh” and “annual_glare.gh” from honeybee-radiance faltered post-recipe execution.
  • The logs consistently indicated issues with rfluxmtx and TotalSky tasks, especially around matrix loading. The repetitive “rcontrib: fatal - unexpected EOF on input” errors, coupled with high warning of cannot load matrix, further intensified my suspicions. Specifically, these paths caught my attention:
    • C:\Program Files\ladybug_tools\radiance\bin\rfluxmtx.exe
    • C:\Radiance\bin\rfluxmtx.exe
    • C:\Program Files\Solemma\Common\Radiance\bin_64\rfluxmtx.exe

While I’ve come across similar issues in various forums, I’ve not been able to discern a clear correlation. My troubleshooting journey has been extensive:

• Post-installation of Radiance from GitHub, I encountered an ‘environment path too long’ error. Thus, I manually set the “bin” environment path to %PATH% and “lib” to %RAYPATH%. This enabled me to invoke the associated package via cmd.
  • I’ve tested running Rhino 7 as an administrator, even signing into Windows with an admin account sans firewall.