Kinetic shading system

Hello all,
im doing my thesis wich is about energy use assessment of mall applying parametric kinetic facade. i use a shoebox assembled with a parametric kinetic facade.
i want to know how i can simulate hourly the energy use of a building assembled with a parametric kinetic facade wich can change automatically based on sun’s movement. can you please guide me through this?

Hi @pariyaabasgholizade
for non-conventional dynamic shading you can not set a set-point to control the shading. if you want this you have to do it by EMS. and also in daylight simulation there is no any set point to control the dynamic shading but recently the dynamic workflow for radiance has been developed to simulate the dynamic object in terms of a annual schedule

What if i don’t consider parametric?
Should i use EMS again?

i think your question about parametric is a little bit strange. the dynamic shading has might a lot of states. if you want to control it in a real time you have to use EMS. but if you want to simulate each state in a specific period (for example annual) you can do it by LBT; in fact this is a parametric analysis.
i recommend to study EMS after that you can make a decision.

I wanted to know if using EMS is still necessary even if all of the modules are opened and closed simultaneously.
I’m grateful.

Hi Parya,