Mitigating UHI effects with Vegetation

Hi Guys,

This is my first post here and I am extremely new to Rhino-Grasshopper-LB+HB operations so please excuse me if I come across uninformed. First of, thanks for creating this tool and making it freely available!

I am proposing a project for my final year thesis in which I am looking at mitigating measures for the UHI effect and the repercussions this has for thermal comfort and increases in energy demand. I have noticed the potential of Ladybug / Honeybee for climatic simulations and was wondering if it there was potential for using it for my exact purposes.

I want to validate different urban greening situations such as green roofs and green facades as well as increased tree and park coverage etc against a base case urban situation to show that improvements to urban greening can reduce UHI impacts.

Is it possible to incorporate variations of green space in a model using LB+HB? In what way would this be accounted for? Also, is there any functionality within LB+HB to estimate energy demands for these different situations?

I also have a final question about .epw files which is whether or not there was a way of transforming these so that they are location specific. For example, the Energy+ .epw file I am currently using is from a site approx. 50km as the crow flies from where I am concerned.

Thanks,

Declan Fay

1 Like

Hi Decian

Firstly, you can try using meteonorm to get interpolated meteorological data closer to your area of interest. Alternatively, you may use ‘elements’ (http://bigladdersoftware.com/projects/elements/) to adjust the EPW using local mean monthly values if you get them from another source.