Natural ventilation in large atrium

Dear Ladybug Tools Community

I am fairly new to Ladybug and this community but I hope you will be able to help me with a problem I am currently working on.
In a large non-conditioned three story tall atrium located in connection with residential buildings, I am trying to simulate the microclimate to get an understanding og the temperatures during especially the hottest periods of the year throughout the atrium. To do this our team has used the component “Honeybee_Set EP Air Flow” and the ventilation type 2 “Custom stack/ wind ventilation” to model natural ventilation with inlet on the ground floor (midplane approx. 1.2 m above the ground) and we have used a similar component with similar inputs for the openable skylights (midplane approx. 8 m above the ground) meant as ventilation outlets.

My question is now is this the correct component to model natural ventilation moving vertically up through three zones? And if so is it correct to input the height of 8 m as the “_inletOutletHeight” or is that meant as the height difference between inlet and outlet in just one zone?

I hope someone can share some insights on this.

Kind regards
Lovborg

Hi @Lovborg . I’m seeing your post a few months late but am currently trying to do the same as you. Did you end up figuring out how to model ventilation going through 3 zones? Thanks!

Hi jac.lu

We have tried several different methods to simulate natural ventilation in these three large adjacent zones but we are still not sure about our results. Currently our team is also working towards transferring our models into Ladybug Tool 1.3, so that’s taking some of our time currently.
Please let me know if you find a good way to simulated this thanks.

@Lovborg, @jac.lu