No initial residual value

Hello everyone,

I am just starting out in Butterfly’s OpenFOAM, and I managed to get some of the example files running, such as the indoor_airflow, atrium_buoyancy, and hvac. Yet, I am struggling to get the outdoor_airflow-example running properly.

After setting the “castellated mesh” to “false” (the solution runs extremely slow if I don’t do this), I run the simulation with no errors.
However, the Ux, Uy, Uz, and p-values are showing nothing, and upon inspecting my “report”, I see that the initial residual values are all “0”, which might explain why there are no results (at least, when I freeze Mr. Roudsari’s tutorial on YouTube, it says that the initial residual value on Uy is 1 in “Time step = 1”)

I am very unsure as to why this is happening, and hope for any clarification.

It is worth noting that I am running the butterfly version 0.0.05 with OpeanFOAM version 1806 through VM (I am unable to use the blueCFD-version as I am running Windows 7 (it seems other people are experiencing this as well).

I can’t upload the gh definition (as I am a “new user”?), but it is similar to the original in the example files except for the “toggle false” to the “castellated mesh”.

Thanks in advance and kind regards,

• J

EDIT:
If it’s worth anything, I’ve looked through most of what I could find regarding something similar, i.e. No errors but also no vectors, but without any results.

Hi STUD5801,
you have to put the castellated mesh to True. Explanations of the reason are on the post that you mentioned. Perhaps you could try with refineLevels at: (0,0)
in the BFgeometry component, to run it faster and first check if it works, then if it does, you should increase them. Does it work? Would be good to see an image of what you get…

Hello Viola,

Thanks for your response. To start, I put the “refineLevels” at 0,0.