Proposal: Creating a Ladybug Tools Discord Community

Hello everyone!

I am an administrator of a Chinese online community with over 1000 members, and a recent active user count of up to 200+. Every day, I encounter various strange questions from users. Fortunately, I have a large number of industry engineers, scholars, professors, and ordinary users who are willing to share their knowledge and have made an indelible contribution to maintaining this community. I also do my best to answer the questions I can see and have the ability to answer (almost every one of them). Our ultimate goal is to make Ladybug Tools better, so all of this is voluntary contribution.

In the one year of community management practice, I found that the efficiency of real-time online communication in the community is much higher than that of waiting for response by posting on forums, and the vast majority of users are not used to using discourse. It should be noted that for new users, the learning curve of Ladybug Tools is not low. If we can have a Discord server, I think it can have the following advantages:

• Provide efficient response speed to various task requirements, help users better, and form real-time discussions among all users.
  • Master the operating habits and requirements of users with different technical levels, and promote the continuous iteration and upgrading of tools.
  • Initiate discussions or salons on specific technologies at any time, and even demonstrate or voice online.
  • Build a robot to provide some basic services or experiences (like Midjourney’s Discord server, perhaps we can promote Pollination through this method).
  • Unite users from different regions of the world to solve common problems in engineering practice and academic research. This is the most beautiful wish!

I hope to work with everyone to accomplish this and discuss everything about Ladybug Tools in real-time!