Sizing period - Design day

Hey guys,

I would like to run thermal performance simulations only for Design Days, instead of weather files.

In Energy Plus, at Sizing Period: Design Day, we are able to define parameters for the program to create a 24-hour weather profile, inputting solar radiation values (or clear sky models), the day of the year for the solar geometry, humidity, temperature.

My goal is to run solar radiation studies for the 21st of each month but considering a clear sky value from ASHRAE for the specific location. I can do this with Energy Plus but not on Honeybee.

Is there a way to create and edit these Design Days and to run the simulation on Honeybee?

Hey @chris , could you help me on this one?
I’m new to ladybug so if it’s impossible I would be glad to know.

Kind regards

@mtonellis ,

Sorry for the late reply. You had originally posted this during a workshop week and this somehow fell through the cracks.

Before running the energy simulation, Honeybee will read the 99.6% and 0.4% sizing design days from the .ddy file next to the .epw file and add them to the IDF file as the objects you see in your image. So, if you add all of your 12 months of design days into the .ddy file next to the .epw as 99.6% or 0.4% design days, Honeybee will run them all for you.

You might also be interested in this example file, which show you how to bring the results from the sizing runs back into Grasshopper and create some cool visualization of them using TTToolbox:
http://hydrashare.github.io/hydra/viewer?owner=chriswmackey&fork=hydra_2&id=Visualize_Peak_Loads_for_HVAC_Sizing

I hope that helps.

Hey Chris!

Is there a way to bypass Honeybee from reading (and writing the idf object) for the 99.6% and 0.4% sizing days?

I was able to insert my custom Design Day objects via “additionalStrings”, but Honeybee still creates its own idf objects for the sizing design days, as mentioned previously.

Best regards!

@emarta ,