URBANOpt from footprints or solids

Hi there. I am just learning the whole Rhino/LBT package now. My primary and really only interest is with the Dragonfly/URBANOpt package. I see things coming together for the workflows in the Dragonfly from_building_footprints and the from_building_solids.gh, but I cannot myself figure out how to actually manipulate the view data of the buildings themselves. If, for example, I retrieve building footprints from the OSM and I have them laid out in Rhino, how does GH/Dragonfly know which footprint is which(image1)? For example, how do I assign the footprint an attribute that the Dragonfly workflow can recognize?

How do I create my own tuple array (image 2)? When I type in a geometry widget on my own, I do not know how to attach the “locally defined values” to that geometry widget. Must this be manually typed in somewhere? How can I modify these values?

Regarding the building solids, it might be possible for me to extract these values from a .dwg (image 3). How would I take what drawing files I do have and extract only the relevant layers, then prepare them for the Dragonfly/URBANOpt workflow? Right now, I am using some OpenStreetMap footprints that appear more complete than what I got from the property manager, but the drawing files are probably more accurate geometries.

From the forums, I guess everyone comes to these tools with a background in CAD and is comfortable with the twelve hundred icons in Rhino. I am arriving primarily as a GIS-user and I am a bit lost. I think just a basic intro would help get me over this hump.

Python not recognizing the multiple geometries attempt:

I am able to see the trimmed surfaces in the geometry widget. None of these objects show an area in grasshopper, but they do have an area in rhino3d.