Algorithm / equation daylight factor and rendering engine

Dear Ladybug Tools community,
I am a student of Building Engineering-Architecture at the University of Pisa and I am preparing my degree thesis in lighting engineering.
I am writing this to you because I am using your software for the analysis of the light factor in order to compare it to the Italian law UNI 10840: 2007 and other similar softwares, such as DIALux evo 8.1 and VELUX Daylight Visualizer 2.
Therefore, I would like to ask you for more information about HoneyBee 0.0.64 and HoneyBee + 0.0.04, in particular about the rendering engine used and the algorithm / equation used to calculate the daylight factor.
I am looking forward for your kind reply.
Best regards
Luca Bianchi

See the answer to a similar question here:

Also see this for some comparison studies in Italy:

Thank you for your quick reply @mostapha.

I ask you to confirm the following.

The daylighting software can estimate daylight levels in the room. However, the quality and accuracy of the simulations is influenced by several factors:

1. method of calculation
  2. sky model
  3. building model
  4. properties of the surface
  5. user expertise

Let’s suppose now that my calculation is influenced only by the method of calculation and sky model.

HoneyBee Legacy 0.0.64
HoneyBee Legacy uses Daysim software (rendering engine) which is based on Radiance.
In order to realize the rendering Daysim, it uses the Ray tracing technique. Gensky CIE 2002 is used for modelling the sky.

HoneyBee [+] 0.0.04
Since Daysim had some limitations, in HoneyBee [+] what is directly used as a software (rendering engine) is Radiance, which uses the technique of Ray tracing . Gensky CIE 2002 is used for modelling the sky.

VELUX Daylight Visualizer
It is developed by LUXION (https://luxion.com/), same producer of KeyShot.
VELUX Daylight Visualizer uses the Photon mapping technique, but I do not know which one is the rendering engine.