Green Facade Thermal Benefits

I am a student learning Grasshopper and Honeybee.
For my Thesis Project I am trying to quantify the Thermal Benefits of Green Facades.
Can someone please tell me how to make a Vertical Green Facade on Honeybee, so that I can simulate the cooling load reduction with Green Facade?
Is it possible to measure reduced cooling load by both shading and evapotranspiration?

Looking forward to your responses!

2 Likes

@Jameela ,
This example file show how to add a green roof to you Honeybee energy model:
http://hydrashare.github.io/hydra/viewer?owner=chriswmackey&fork=hydra_2&id=Green_Roof_In_Energy_Model&slide=0&scale=1&offset=0,0

You can use it to get an estimate of the benefits of a vertical green facade but you should read the E+ documentation on the roof vegetation object to understand its limitations since it says that the model isnā€™t really intended to model vertical facades:
https://bigladdersoftware.com/epx/docs/8-9/input-output-reference/group-surface-construction-elements.html#materialroofvegetation

Hey Chris.
Thanks for the response. I looked at the File you sent me, and I am getting an error when I tried to read the results. Can you please tell me what this error is for?
I am uploading a picture of the error message.

ā€˜1. Solution exception:C:\Git\OS\openstudiocore\src\model\PlanarSurface.cpp@644 : Cannot create a surface with vertices [[0, 0, 0.003], [0, 0, 0], [0.01, 0, 0], [0.01, 0, 0.003]]ā€™

@chris

I also found a study regarding simulations of Green Facades in Energy Plus. A model for Green Facades was created for the study. This is the link of the study:

These are some of the properties for the Green Facade Model that were mentioned in the study:

Is it possible to change the characteristics of the Material Input in EP Construction to modify it for Green Facades? if so, should the values be modified in the Panel connected to the EP Construction or in the Energy Plus Library?