OTTV (Overall Thermal Transfer Value) calculation method with Honeybee?

Hello, I have a question for my studio. Is it possible to conduct and visualize an OTTV (Overall Thermal Transfer Value) calculation (Watt/m2) with honeybee? So, basically I need these three variables which are shown in the image below. Do I need to calculate each of them separately then do the math manually, or is there a way for me to do it automatically by inserting the parameters with honeybee?
OTTV-calculation-formula

And what will be the name of the output parameter? Seems like I cannot find any output with the name ā€˜ottvā€™ or ā€˜thermal transfer valueā€™. I am sorry because this is my first time learning HB. Thank you so much!

Hey @kocat ,

Yes, you can do this both with Honeybee-legacy and with the new LBT Honeybee plugin. To get a visualization of the overall surface energy flow with a Honeybee model, you want to use the same method that you see in this part of this sample file. However, instead of coloring the surfaces with their temperature, you want to color them with the energy flow that is output here from the ā€œRead EP Surface Resultā€ component:

Note that, in order to get this data out of the simulation, you need to request surface energy flow like this:

You will see that the resulting data includes both the net conduction through surfaces as well as the solar gain in the case of windows.

3 Likes

Hello @chris,

Amazing clear answer! thank you very much, Iā€™d give it a try as soon as I enter the schematic design phaseā€¦ by the way, can you also look into my question on this thread? Since I just moved from windows to mac, and I have quite a problem with running 1.0.9 LB & HB, would be much appreciated if you can help me there since I cannot start to work, thank you so muchā€¦

Hey @chris,
can you tell me the component names on the pictures that you have posted above? thank you